• Today is: Monday, September 23, 2019

The winner of the 2015 Nobel Prize

Phina So
October09/ 2015

The 2015 Nobel Prize in literature, the most prestigious literature award in the world, was awarded to Svetlana Alexievich, the Belarusian writer which, according to the NYTimes, has been working actively in collecting oral history of female Russian soldiers in World War II and the aftermath of the Chernobyl nuclear disaster.

Photo credit: www.dw.com
Photo credit: www.dw.com

CNN reports that among the 107 prizes which has been awarded, she is only the 14th woman who won the valuable prize.

One of the quotes I found in the NYTimes is quite powerful and tells general sense of what the winner has been working on. The quote is from Philip Gourevitch, a writer for The New Yorker who has called on the Nobel committee to recognize nonfiction as literature.

“What she’s doing, there’s a lot of art in it,….She has a voice that runs through her work that’s much more than the sum of the voices she’s collected.”

In Southeast Asia, there are only 4 nations that have the honor of receiving the prize. There are Burma (1), East-Timor (2), Vietnam (1), and Java (Indonesia). And when and who from Cambodia will win the prize? Will we?